Leap Day Birthdays- A Shout Out to all You Leap Year Babies!

Today I was visiting a local tax establishment to get my tax return completed.  When filling out the paperwork I couldn’t for the life of me remember the date.  I asked the gentlemen what the date was.  He replied “February 29th, my Wife’s birthday.  We always remember to celebrate because she only gets one every four years”.

I was taken aback.  I had never thought of the predicament of someone being born on February 29th.  I will admit I thought about it most of the day.  I had questions that needed to be answered, so I decided to do some reading.

Do people who were born on leap days celebrate a birthday every year?

Apparently some will celebrate on March 1st, or February 28th.  Some will celebrate only on actual leap years.

What about the legality of the situation?  When does said “Leapling” reach the age of majority?

It of course varies by country.  Some laws state February 28th, some state March 1st.  I couldn’t locate anything on my specific country which is Canada, but I’m sure I could with a little more time put into it.

Is someone who was born on February 29th, 1952 60 years old, or 15 years old?

Technically they are 21,916 years old.  21,916/365= 60.04 years.  So technically speaking they are 60 years old.  This is also true legally speaking.  Technically they are celebrating their “15th birthday” though.

Leave a Reply

