Goals

This will be my first real post on this blog in a while.  The truth is, I needed to clear my mind.  I wasn’t getting the same enjoyment out of posting and I needed a break.

These past few months I’ve had a lot of time to think, and I’ve gone through a lot of changes in my life.  I switched jobs, I’ve become more social,I’ve gotten a much-needed haircut, I’ve carefully examined my past and above all I’ve set goals.  Goals are something I’ve always struggled with in everything I do.  Even in my music I’ve often sought after instant gratification and it’s held me back.  I’ve always approached much of life in that way.  If I couldn’t accomplish something quickly and easily, than it wasn’t worth trying.   It may have taken some words of encouragement from a friend and a little counseling, but I now realize that I’ll never be happy living in limbo, and I can’t rely on other people to create or provide that happiness for me.

Goals are the most important thing in life.  Learning how to make them has been one of the hardest things I’ve done.  I’ve struggled with my fear of setting out to accomplish something and then realizing I want something different.  The bottom line is that goals aren’t static, they are dynamic.  They can change and adapt to me as I myself change and adapt as a human being.

I’ve set a few goals over the last little bit.  Some of them concern my music, some my finance and others my personal life.  Above all I finally decided what I want to do education wise.  Six years from graduating high school I have finally completed my first college application and it feels great.

Sometimes you just have to get your feet wet.

Leave a Reply

