Guitar Project #1: Introduction

I’ve had this guitar sitting in my closet for a couple of years now.  I got it for $50 from the place I work because it was on display and got banged up pretty bad.  I haven’t used it or played it as it’s been in an unplayable condition.  I’ve always planned on doing something with it, but have never gotten around to starting it until now.

This is a picture of the same model guitar. I hadn't taken a picture of my guitar before I started taking it apart.

I stripped the guitar of all of its hardware and removed the neck from the body.  This guitar has a basswood body, a maple neck and a rosewood fret board.  My plan is to strip all of the finish of the guitar’s body and all the black finish off of the head stock.  I may even replace the neck all together.

I haven’t decided whether I’m going to strip the body myself, or pay a professional to do it.  Paying the professional is certainly the easier route, and that may be what I’ll end up doing.  This all depends on how much each option will cost.

Once it’s all stripped down I’m going to take a look at the wood.  If it has a nice appearance to it, I’m going to give the guitar a stained finish.  If not, it will get a repainted a different colour.

This project is definitely going to take some work, but it will be a lot of fun.  I haven’t decided what I’m putting in for hardware and new pickups, that will sort of happen as I can afford it.  I’ve never done a project like this before, but I hope to learn a lot from doing it.

Leave a Reply

