Things I’m Nostalgic About II

A continuation of https://wademack.wordpress.com/2011/03/16/things-im-nostalgic-about/

This is a list of things that I’m nostalgic about.  They all give me a warm and fuzzy feeling inside.  Most of them were a common part of growing up in my area in the 90′s and early 2000′s.

– The sound of Mr. Dressup’s scissors 

There was nothing like the crunching sound made by this magical dual-bladed cutting instrument.  Many a sheet of construction paper did I devour trying to make my Crayola safety scissors sound the same.

– Blowing into my “Shadows of the Empire” cartridge to make it work

Blowing into a game cartridge was always the first step in troubleshooting.  I just wanted to run around as Dash Rendar and shoot some stormtroopers.  You could also use the cheat codes and float through walls n’ shit.

– “The littlest hobo” was the best show on TV (if you had two channels)

A stray German Shepard who wanders from town to town, helping people in need?  Sign me up.  It was better than TV church.

– Dunkaroos were the king of the lunch box, but they never came with enough icing

Who couldn’t love cookies dunked in icing?  It’s basically candy, and that’s what I wanted.  You never quite had enough icing for all the cookies though.

– The sound of a computer connecting to the internet

I can still remember a time when connecting to the internet involved tying up the phone line for the seemingly 17.5 hours it took to download a 30 mb file.  We put up with it, because it was all we knew.

– Inspector Gadget was a moron

One thing was apparent in this cartoon I held so dear.  The protagonist was a bumbling idiot, but he always got the job done in the end (maybe with a little help from Penny and Brain) and that is admirable.

– I only ever saw worlds 1, 4 and 8

I honestly can’t remember a time where I didn’t take the warp zones whilst playing “Super Mario Bros”.  The only worlds I know are the first, fourth and eighth.


Leave a Reply

