Things That Scared me as a Kid

– The Shredder


I can’t quite describe what disturbed me about the cartoon version of the Shredder, all I can say is that little Wade Mack couldn’t watch ninja turtles by himself.

– The fucked up looking blue tractor that cut the grass at the park

I wasn’t afraid of most tractors.  In fact, I was quite fond of them as my dad’s a farmer.  There was something about this tractor that made me feel like icy cold claws were clenching my fragile heart.  Something about this tractor seemed evil, an evil older than the earth itself.  It would cause me to run at full speed back to my grandparent’s house.  Or on days where I didn’t get out of the park before it started cutting, I would hide on the tallest playground equipment and cry.

– Jurassic Park was scary shit

Now don’t get me wrong.  I was quite afraid of tyrannosaurus-rex, but there was something about the velociraptors in this movie that was so much more frightening.

– Flushing the Toilet

I can’t quite explain it, but I knew in my heart that if I didn’t get the fuck out of the bathroom before the toilet finished flushing… bad shit was going to go down (in more ways than just one).

– The fucking owl on Mr. Dressup


Toowit-toowee, toowit-toowoo.  That’s some fucking scary shit.

– The Woods

I used to be absolutely petrified of the woods.  Which is funny, because the most dangerous things in the woods where I live are small woodland animals.  I was always afraid that there were snakes (just garter snakes in my area) and other creepy crawlies.  I wasn’t having any part of that shit.

Leave a Reply

