Pepsi Retro Throwback

I just about shit myself when I saw a stack of this stuff in the grocery store.

It’s logo and the words “Made with Real Sugar” intrigued me.  Would this be all that different from the Pepsi that I grew up with?  Since the 1980s, PepsiCo (as well as most other soft drink manufacturers) have been making their soft drinks with HFCS (High-fructose corn syrup) instead of natural sugar.  Being born in 1988 myself, I have never had “real” sugar sweetened Pepsi.

There was no other option.  I had to purchase me some of this magical looking beverage.  I picked up two cases and fled for my home to try it out.  I can’t say that I like it better than the Pepsi I know and love, but I do enjoy it.  It’s taste is somewhat smoother than its modern brother and seems to have less of a harsh bite.  I would recommend that everyone try it while it’s still available, maybe it will stir up memories in some of you older folk.

Leave a Reply

