5 Desert Island Albums That I Connect With Emotionally

What is a Desert Island Album?

It’s an album that you couldn’t possibly  live with out, an album that strikes an intense emotional chord with you.  I have compiled a list of 5 albums that fall under this definition for me.

– Miles Davis, Kind of blue (1959)

There is something about this album that seems to put me in a relaxed mood.  It is a landmark recording of modal jazz music.  On top of all that, it just sounds plain good.

The signature riff of “So What” is one of the most famous in jazz music.

– The Rolling Stones, Exile on Main St. (1972)

While listening to an album, atmosphere means a lot to me, and Exile certainly delivers.  It grabs you with the crunchy-clean guitar riffs of “Rocks Off” and drags you along a blistering roller coaster ride of everything that makes rock and roll so good.

“Loving Cup” brings up images of Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, whiskey in hand, having a blast with the vocal harmonies.

– The Rolling Stones, Brussels Affair (Bootleg, 1973)

Although this isn’t a “real” album, the music certainly is.  This album remains one of the best live documents of the Stones’ at their peak.  Sound quality isn’t always the best, but that’s not what this album is about.

Mick Taylor’s soaring guitar solo at around the 2:05 mark gives me goosebumps every time.

– Led Zeppelin, Led Zeppelin IV (1971)

I love all of Led Zeppelin’s albums, especially I through IV, but if I had to choose, the honours would go to IV.  The reason being is that it gives me the perfect mix of everything I love about getting the Led out.

I love the soft acoustic sounds of “Going to California”

– Rush, 2112 (1976)

I don’t think that going through life without this album would be worth it.  The sound is wonderfully progressive and deliciously rocking.  One of the best Canadian bands.

I strongly urge you to listen to this album in its entirety.

That’s it for the first five.  I may make a part two.  There are many albums that I don’t think I could live without.

Leave a Reply

