Sony MDR-V150 Headphones Review

It finally happened, the headphones I’ve been using for the last two years broke.  I was listening to one of my favourite live albums, the Rolling Stone’s “Get yer ya yas out” (1970) and half way through the nine minute long performance of “Midnight Rambler” I lost the entire right channel.  Now don’t get me wrong, I love the stuff going on in the left channel on that tune, particularly Mick Taylor’s guitar work, but losing Keith Richards’ guitar part was unbearable.  After jiggling with the wire for a while trying to get the right channel to kick in, I decided to concede defeat and buy a new pair the next day.

I had been planning on purchasing a new set of headphones in the near future, but these broke at an inconvenient time finance wise and I had to go for a cheap set to hold me off until I can afford a nicer pair.  After careful consideration of my budget ($20 CAD) I decided on a set of Sony MDR-V150s that happened to be on sale where I work for $17.49 CAD.

Sony advertises these headphones as “Studio Monitor Headphones” and while they look somewhat like a set of studio monitors, the sound quality isn’t near high enough for that purpose.  They are however well suited to everyday use for non-audiophiles.

I found the bass a little weak, but a quick tweak of my EQ helped a bit.  The Highs are excellent for a set at this price.  I honestly wasn’t expecting much out of a $20 set of headphones.

Overall, I found these headphones adequate for the time being.  They will certainly make a great backup set when I finally get some extra spending money.

Leave a Reply

